Residents and Faculty Honored During McLeod Family Medicine Residency Graduation


A graduation for the 39th McLeod Family Medicine Residency Program was held on June 25. The Class of 2021 included Dr Caitlin Basnight, Dr. Aria Behrouzi, Dr. Eric Hart, Dr. James Johnson, Dr. Narjah Martin, Dr. Brice Morey, Dr. Yorke Reynolds and Dr. Brandon Washington.

“This class represents the 39th class to graduate from our program,” said Dr. Gerard Jebaily, McLeod Family Medicine Residency Program Director. “At 60 percent, we have the highest retention rate of Residents who have remained in South Carolina to practice, the highest rate in the state. We are very proud of our program and its graduates.”

During the graduation ceremony, Dr. Eric Hart was presented with the 2021 Society of Teachers of Family Medicine Residents Teacher Award for exemplifying skills and interests in teaching. The recipient of this award, chosen by program faculty, excels in precepting medical students, community and peer teaching, patient education, and presentations given at regional family medicine meetings. Dr. Hart will join the McLeod Medical Staff as a Hospitalist at McLeod Regional Medical Center starting in August.

Dr. Richard R. Howell was also named the 2021 recipient of the Halford Award for Leadership in Humane Education by South Carolina AHEC and McLeod Health. The award was presented to Dr. Howell by Dr. Jebaily and Dr. Allan Macdonald, Associate Program Director. Since 1984, Dr. Howell has been an integral part of the Family Medicine Residency Program at McLeod Regional Medical Center serving as the Director of Geriatric Education. Recently, Dr. Howell was named Program Director for the McLeod Family Medicine Rural Residency Program. The Halford Award is presented to a Family Medicine Residency Training Program Faculty Member in recognition of outstanding leadership in providing humane education. The award is named for Dr. James Halford, who was the founding director of the AnMed Health Family Medicine Residency Program. Award winners demonstrate a caring attitude and respect for patients, residents and students; value human dignity; demonstrate a passion and joy for teaching, learning and working with others and participating in community service activities.

Additionally, Dr. Susan Robins was honored with the Faculty of the Year award. Dr. Robins serves as the Site Director for the McLeod Family Medicine Rural Residency Program in Cheraw and cares for patients at McLeod Primary Care Cheraw. Chief Resident Dr. James Johnson presented the award to Dr. Robins. “Since my classes’ arrival three years ago, Dr. Robins has always cared deeply for each individual resident’s education as well as their personal well-being. She is a shining example of why our residency program is so very fortunate to have the faculty that we do to help guide us to becoming the best possible doctors that we can be,” said Dr. Johnson.