Physicians Honored with Pillars of Professionalism

The recipients of the 2016 Pillars of Professionalism are (from left to right) Dr. Daniel Fox, Dr. Vinod Jona, Dr. Douglas MacPherson, Dr. John Sonfield and Dr. Alan Blaker.

Five McLeod physicians were honored with the Pillars of Professionalism Awards during a ceremony at the McLeod Medical Plaza on January 16. This is the third annual awards event to recognize those physicians who reflect the highest values in professional excellence.

The honorees included Dr. John W. Sonfield, Dr. Douglas A. MacPherson, Dr. Daniel J. Fox, Dr. Vinod Jona and Dr. Alan Blaker.

The intent of the Pillars of Professionalism is to symbolize the ideas that can effect change in the level of physician service excellence in healthcare. The capstone of this structure is Value. Supporting that capstone are five columns of excellence — Educator, Enthusiastic, Ethical, Efficient and Efficacious. These pillars rest on the solid foundation of Emotional Intelligence.

Dr. Sonfield received the first honor of the evening, the Educator – Mentor Award. This pillar reflects a teacher whose goal is helping others succeed. Dr. Keith Player presented this award to Dr. Sonfield, his colleague with Pee Dee Surgical Group.

The Enthusiastic – Joy of Medicine Award was presented to Dr. MacPherson by Dr. Ben King. This honor is presented to a leader who infects others with excitement and energy about providing healthcare. Dr. MacPherson and Dr. King work together with Medical Anesthesia Consultants.

Dr. Fox was recognized with the Ethical – Do the Right Thing Award by Dr. Michael Carmichael. The Ethical Pillar represents a trusted and respected steward who balances the needs of the patient with resources to treat their illness. Dr. Fox serves as a McLeod Anesthesiologist alongside Dr. Carmichael during cardiothoracic surgery.

The Efficient – Value in Medicine Award was given to Dr. Jona who displays the attributes of being an agile decision maker who can create simplicity out of complexity. McLeod Oncologist Dr. Rajesh Bajaj presented this distinction to McLeod Pulmonologist Dr. Jona, whom he consults with each day.

Dr. Blaker received the Efficacious – Outstanding Outcomes Award from Dr. Fred Krainin. This pillar reflects a knowledgeable and skilled surveyor of risk management and advocate of coordinated care. Dr. Blaker cares for patients with Dr. Krainin at McLeod Cardiology Associates.

Rob Colones, President of McLeod Health, opened the program with an invocation. He was followed by Dr. C. Dale Lusk, Chief Medical Officer and Vice President for Medical Services, and Dr. Walter E. Connor, Chief of Staff for McLeod Regional Medical Center, who offered remarks during the ceremony.

In his closing remarks, Dr. Lusk said, “Tonight, as an educator, we see in Dr. John Sonfield a teacher whose goal is to help others succeed. In Dr. Doug MacPherson, we see an enthusiastic leader who infects others with excitement and energy about providing healthcare. In Dr. Dan Fox, we see an ethical, trusted and respected steward who balances the needs of the patient with the resources to treat their illness. In Dr. Vinod Jona, we see an efficient and agile decision maker who creates simplicity out of complexity, and in Dr. Alan Blaker we see an efficacious, knowledgeable, and skilled surveyor of risk management and an advocate of coordinated care. This slate of physician honorees has certainly risen to top of their respective fields, and we congratulate them on this recognition and thank them for their service to McLeod and the patients we serve.”