McLeod Health Hospitals and Physicians Recognized


McLeod Health hospitals and physicians were recently recognized for providing excellence in healthcare by national healthcare research leader
Professional Research Consultants, Inc. (PRC). The awards were presented during PRC’s 2016 Excellence in Healthcare Conference in May.

The honors received by each hospital include:

McLeod Cheraw

Gold Achievement Award for project: "Getting to Know Us"

5-Star HCAHPS Award for "Communication About Medications"

McLeod Darlington

Top Performer Award for HCAHPS "Total HCAHPS Score"

Top Performer HCAHPS Award for "Communication with Doctors"

Top Performer HCAHPS Award for "Communication with Nurses"

Top Performer HCAHPS Award for "Hospital Environment"

5-Star HCAHPS Award for "Communication about Medicines"

5-Star HCAHPS Award for "Discharge Information"

5-Star HCAHPS Award for "Pain Management"

5-Star HCAHPS Award for "Responsiveness of Staff"

5-Star HCAHPS Award for "Overall Rating"

McLeod Dillon

Gold Achievement Award for project: "Care Transitions"

5-Star HCAHPS Award for "Communication about Medicines"

5-Star HCAHPS Award for "Communication with Doctors"

5-Star HCAHPS Award for "Discharge Information"

McLeod Seacoast

4-Star Emergency Department Award for Overall Quality of Care

McLeod Regional Medical Center

Gold Achievement Award for project: "Improving Heart and Vascular HCAHPS"

Dr. James C. H. Smith, a McLeod Oncologist, and Dr. Gavin Leask, a McLeod Cardiologist, were recognized as Top Performers for Overall Quality of
Physician Care. They were ranked at or above the 100th percentile which equates to the highest scoring physicians in the nation. The following nine McLeod physicians were also honored for being ranked in the top ten percent in the nation as 5-Star recipients: Dr. Chris Cunningham, Dr. David Horger, Dr. Marie LiVigni, Dr. Chris McCauley, Dr. William Newsom, Dr. Anil Om, Dr. Sreenivas Rao, Dr. Weaver Whitehead and Dr. Gabor Winkler.

"McLeod Health hospitals and physicians are incredibly deserving of these National Excellence in Healthcare Awards," said Joe M. Inguanzo, Ph.D., President and CEO of PRC. "McLeod Health is committed to driving improved scores and making their hospitals a better place to work, a better place to practice medicine and a better place for patients to be treated. It takes true dedication, determination and hard work to achieve this level of excellence in healthcare."

"It is exciting that our patient satisfaction survey results have earned our hospitals and physicians such prestigious recognition," said Cathy Lee Frederick, Vice President of Service Excellence for McLeod Health. "However, scores are not the true reason we celebrate. What makes these awards meaningful is the fact that our doctors, nurses and staff make the needs of our patients, their number one priority. The survey scores simply reflect that patient-centered philosophy."

For 16 years, PRC’s annual Excellence in Healthcare Conference has brought together hundreds of healthcare leaders to focus on transforming the patient experience. The awards recognize organizations and individuals who achieve excellence throughout the year by improving patient experiences, healthcare employee engagement and/or physician alignment and engagement based on surveys of their patients.