Henderson Named Director of Hospitalist Program at McLeod Dillon


(8/25/10) – Reeanna Henderson has been named the Director of Hospitalist Program at McLeod Dillon. The Hospitalist Team at McLeod Medical Center Dillon is made up of Physicians and a Nurse Practitioner.
A Hospitalist is a medical doctor whose primary professional focus is the medical care of hospitalized patients. Hospitalists are based in the hospital and specialize in all aspects of a patient’s care from admission to discharge. Often, if a patient is under the care of a Hospitalist, they may not have a primary care physician or their primary care physician does not care for patients in a hospital setting.

A Nurse Practitioner (NP) is a master’s prepared registered nurse who has completed specific advanced education and training in the diagnosis and management of medical conditions. Nurse Practitioners practice clinically and are capable of diagnosing, treating, evaluating and managing short-term and long-term illnesses and diseases.

Because the Hospitalist Team does not maintain a private outside practice, their time is devoted solely to caring for hospitalized patients. If a patient has a primary care physician, the Hospitalist Team will communicate directly with this physician providing routine updates and further recommendations for the patient’s continued recovery.

Henderson began working at McLeod Dillon as a Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN) in 2002. She became the Utilization Review Coordinator in 2003 and was hired as the Clinical Effectiveness Coordinator in 2008. Henderson graduated from Northeastern Tech where she received an Associates Degree in Nursing in May, 2010. Henderson passed her nursing board examination in May, 2010. She plans to attend the Medical University of SC Bachelor’s of Science in Nursing (BSN) degree.

Henderson is a native of Dillon. She and her husband, Chad, have two sons, Noah, age 9, and Eli, age 5. Henderson is a member of East Dillon Baptist Church in Dillon. She has been nominated to participate in Palmetto Leadership Dillon County Class of 2011.