McLeod Physicians Honored with Pillars of Professionalism


Pictured with McLeod Regional Medical Center Administrator Marie Saleeby are the recipients of the 2017 Pillars of Professionalism (from left to right) Dr. Alva Whitehead, Dr. Keith Player, Dr. Rajesh Malik, Mrs. Saleeby, Dr. Mark Reynolds, Dr. Jeremy Robertson, and Dr. Charles Tatum.

On December 4, six McLeod physicians were honored with the Pillars of Professionalism Awards during a ceremony at the McLeod Pavilion Conference Center. This is the fourth annual awards event to recognize those physicians who reflect the highest values in professional excellence.

The honorees included Dr. Charles Tatum, Dr. Keith Player, Dr. Mark Reynolds, Dr. Jeremy Robertson, Dr. Rajesh Malik, and Dr. Alva Whitehead.

The intent of the Pillars of Professionalism is to symbolize the ideas that can effect change in the level of physician service excellence in healthcare. The capstone of this structure is Value. Supporting that capstone are five columns of excellence — Educator, Enthusiastic, Ethical, Efficient and Efficacious. These pillars rest on the solid foundation of Emotional Intelligence.

Dr. Tatum received the Educator – Mentor Award. This pillar reflects a teacher whose goal is helping others succeed. Dr. John Browning presented this award to Dr. Tatum, his colleague with McLeod OBGYN Associates.

The Enthusiastic – Joy of Medicine Award was presented to Dr. Player by Dr. Dale Lusk, Chief Medical Officer for McLeod Health. This honor is presented to a leader who infects others with excitement and energy about providing healthcare. Dr. Player practices as part of Pee Dee Surgical Group.

Dr. Reynolds was recognized with the Ethical – Do the Right Thing Award by Dr. Joseph Pearson. The Ethical Pillar represents a trusted and respected steward who balances the needs of the patient with resources to treat their illness. Dr. Reynolds serves as a Trauma Surgeon for McLeod Regional Medical Center and alongside Dr. Pearson and their partners at Pee Dee Surgical Group.

The Efficient – Value in Medicine Award was given to Dr. Robertson who displays the attributes of being an agile decision maker who can create simplicity out of complexity. McLeod Emergency Physician Dr. Thomas Lewis presented this distinction to Dr. Robertson, with whom he serves in leadership of the McLeod Regional Medical Center Emergency Medicine Department.

Dr. Malik received the Efficacious – Outstanding Outcomes Award from Dr. Alan Blaker, Medical Director of the McLeod Heart and Vascular Institute. This pillar reflects a knowledgeable and skilled surveyor of risk management and advocate of coordinated care. Dr. Malik cares for patients with Dr. Blaker at McLeod Cardiology Associates.

Dr. Alva Whitehead, Sr., was recognized for his more than 40 years of service to the patients, physicians, and staff of McLeod Health by Dr. Michael Rose, Vice President for Surgical Services for McLeod Regional Medical Center. Dr. Whitehead was instrumental in the formation and establishment of the McLeod Health Pillars of Professionalism whose intent is to symbolize the ideas that can effect change in the level of physician service excellence in healthcare.

Rob Colones, President of McLeod Health, opened the program with an invocation. He was followed by Dr. C. Dale Lusk, Chief Medical Officer and Vice President for Medical Services, and Dr. Walter E. Connor, Chief of Staff for McLeod Regional Medical Center, who offered remarks during the ceremony.

In his closing remarks, Dr. Lusk said, “This slate of physician honorees has certainly risen to the top of their respective fields, and we congratulate them on this recognition and thank them for their service to McLeod and the patients we serve.”